Hong Kong: An eastern glimpse

Hong Kong was my first trip east of India. I moved to India from UK in 2014 and it was in winters of 2014, that I went to Hong Kong a few times on business trips. It was during those trips that I experienced HK.

HK was under British rule for a very long time and became a sovereign only in 1997. This is quite evident when you are in HK as you can see the British influence everywhere, of course mixed with the Chinese influence. Well it was Christmas time and the whole atmosphere was festive.

My first trip was for 3 days and I could not see a lot during that, however I got a glimpse of HK. After reaching airport in the morning, I took the train and taxi to reach my hotel in Tsim Sha Tsui, popularly know as TST. TST is the main place in HK with all the designer shops, luxurious hotels, malls and of course tourists. Hong Kong has 4 main areas: Hong Kong island, Kowloon, Lantau island and New Territories. TST is in Kowloon.
After reaching the hotel, I quickly got ready and went to my office.

2014-11-24-20-32-56

Night skyline

My elder cousin was living in HK during that time and we decided to meet up in the evening after office. In the evening, we met and roamed around the TST area to get some beers. There was a very terrace on the top floor of my hotel with panoramic views of the Hong Kong skyline. We decided to go there and have few beers before dinner. Well, it didn’t turn out to be that easy. I forgot how to reach my hotel since everything was looking so similar and I just got in the morning. TST is really a great area to be lost, but I didn’t want that at that time. In the end after roaming around the hotel for few times and looking at the same buildings again and again we finally reached my hotel and the terrace.

2014-11-24-20-32-59

Night skyline

The night skyline of HK was amazing. We sat there and had few beers and caught up after a long time. We went for dinner in an indian restaurant (my cousin prefers it 😛 ) and had a great time since there was live indian music. We could also request songs.

2014-11-24-21-35-40

Indian restaurant, Tandoori Nights

The night went well and I returned to the hotel with a little bit of effort in remembering the streets and my hotel’s location. Anyway!!

Next day I went to my office which was in Harbour City mall. During lunch I had a quick walk to the mall and to the terrace overlooking Victoria Harbour. The skyline in the morning was even better as i could see all the buildings which were lit up the last night.

2014-11-25-12-57-10

View from Harbour City mall

2014-11-25-12-57-53

In the evening, I took the tube (well, MTR underground) and went to my cousin’s place on Lantau’s island and had dinner with the family.

2014-11-24-21-35-34

Tsim Sha Tsui

This was a 3 day quick trip and unfortunately I did not have my DSLR camera with me. Thus, I could not click a lot many pictures and used only my mobile phone.

2014-11-25-18-26-55

Tsim Sha Tsui

However, I returned to HK for a longer duration in less than a month.

Stay tuned for that trip which has visits to the Peak, Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong island, Tian Tan Buddha, and a lot.

Leave a Reply

